Book Review: The Lies of Locke Lamora

The Lies of Locke Lamora
The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Locke Lamora! I like you. I more than like you. I don’t LOVE you yet, but maybe by the second book I might. There’s a bit of a resemblance to the Scarlet Pimpernel and/or Robin Hood, but I’m willing to overlook that if the adventures are brand new!

First off, it doesn’t feel like the author’s debut novel. Good narrative, strong characters and a reasonably good plot (although I personally would have preferred more shocking revelations with regard to the bad guys!) make this book, and I hope the series, a good read. The book falls in the same genre as Game of Thrones (or ASOIAF), The Kingkiller Chronicles, etc. and well, it may not be in the same league as the uber-elaborate ASOIAF, but it does have a promising start. I have the second book in the series and I’m going to start reading it once I read a couple of different genres in between, so it doesn’t feel monotonous! (Yes, I do things like that. Crazy? Maybe. Who cares!)

But hey, biggest grouse – no major female characters, dude. Like, none. Just a reference to a long lost ex-girlfriend, but nothing beyond that. I hope that’s taken care of in the next book, because we need more ladies please! Don’t ask me why. We don’t need any sentimental stuff, but a Xena Warrior Princess or Lara Croft type person won’t hurt. 😉

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

