Review: The Girl on the Train

The Girl on the Train
The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

First off, I’m the girl who gave up Gone Girl midway ‘coz I found it boring and then finished it only after it started getting rave reviews (mostly because I was curious wondering what I missed that the rest of the world didn’t seem to!). That said, it’s still a well-written book compared to ‘The Girl on the train’, which, sadly, is a cheap imitation.

There’s nothing unique about this book: the PoV method of story-telling, done before and done better; the alcoholic-with-memory-blackouts angle, done already (I think there’s a really spooky Mary Higgins Clark book with the same thing); running through all characters as a list of suspects – done to death in every darn whodunit book till date; so, what’s left? Nothing. A lot of the writing appeared forced, added to fill up space and reach the page target perhaps – there were entire portions that were repetitive and unnecessary and very tiresome!

I still finished it, yay! More to get it done than anything else.. guessed the whodunit bit too early, so there wasn’t much of a surprise at the end. It all seemed very familiar – like I’ve read this already. Maybe I have. :-\

If you loved Gone Girl, skip this. If you hated Gone Girl, skip this. If you didn’t mind Gone Girl, then yeah..maybe you can give this a go! đŸ™‚

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

