Review: Steve Jobs

Steve Jobs
Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m this close to buying an iPad right now. And something’s changed about the way I look at my regular Windows-based laptop – it just got a wee bit ugly and cumbersome to use. Why? Because I read about how Apple products look and behave. I read about why and how they were designed the way they are. About the man who brought them into existence.

I’m not a big fan of non-fiction and/or biographies, but I just had to read this one because it was about Steve Jobs. And I was not disappointed. It was such an eye-opener of a book, into the man’s life and maybe even parts of his mind. The author has not minced words when it came to the tough topics and has been generous where praise was due. It’s not a book that glorifies Jobs unconditionally nor is it a book that paints him as a control-freak of a dictator. It’s about the man and what led him to do all the things he did.

Read the book. You won’t regret knowing that little bit more about Jobs and how Apple and its products came into being. And excuse me while I go and get myself an iPad.

View all my reviews

5 thoughts on “Review: Steve Jobs

  1. //Iā€™m not a big fan of non-fiction and/or biographies
    Yeah! Even I hate’em. Had a really really tough time in flipping through the pages of Literary occasions
    But now, I’m having second thoughts abt Non-Fiction. šŸ™‚
    This one so goes into my to-read list
    ~ cheers.!

    Like

  2. Read the book recently – had exactly the same feeling. I have more half-read non-fiction books than the fully read ones. But this was one which I couldnt put down. May be because I loved reading about the birth and evolution of certain technology which we have been hearing about and now is on our fingertips or may be because it was so dramatic. I got an iPhone soon after reading that šŸ™‚ did u buy an iPad?

    Like

    • Hehe.. not yet.. I’m still too big of a Kindle fan to buy the iPad over the Kindle Fire. šŸ˜› Also because I’m slightly a miser when it comes to gadgets šŸ™‚

      Maybe I will wait for iPad 3 to come out.. or the Kindle Fire 2 (whichever is out first!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

