Review: The Greatest Knight

The Greatest Knight
The Greatest Knight by Elizabeth Chadwick
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

‘The Greatest Knight’ is a book about an ‘unsung’ knight, William Marshal who rose from nothing to become a confidante of kings and eventually, a regent of England. This is not my first historical fiction about the kings of England, so there was nothing new here that I hadn’t already come across in, say, Philippa Gregory’s works. Looks like all the kings and queens of England had the very same traits! 😀

The story starts off exciting enough, with a struggling knight and his escapades on and off the tourney field. There were parts that felt distinctly like a Mills-and-Boon story (I haven’t read any, but based on what I’ve heard, I can imagine the type) about knights in armors and beautiful ladies of the court.

I enjoyed reading the book nevertheless, but at the 80% mark it slowed down drastically and there were places where I felt the story losing focus and meandering around. I still hoped it would get back on track by the time it ended, but sadly, no.

All said and done, historical fiction is one of my favorite genres, more so when it’s about England. Given that, I might just pick up the next one which starts off where ‘The Greatest Knight’ left us.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: The Greatest Knight

    • Haha.. yeah, the genre is not everyone’s type.. have you read Philippa Gregory’s books? ‘The other Boleyn Girl’ was my first in this genre and I’ve been a huge fan ever since. Michelle Moran is ok too – I read ‘Madame Tussaud’ and it was ok (not great, but not bad either).

      Like

Leave a Reply

