Review: The Blogging Affair

The Blogging Affair
The Blogging Affair by Amitabh Manu
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

I came to know about this book from the author himself, when he sent me a note asking if I could do a review. The bibliophile that I am, I never say no to a book. So that’s how I came to read this book.

The book is a murder ‘mystery’ (I’ll explain the quotes) – a young girl is found murdered in her home and the immediate suspect is the married man with whom she was having an affair. There are 2 cops trying to unravel the mystery and to add to all this, there’s a parallel thread with posts from a blog, written by an anonymous blogger. Who confesses to killing a girl.

Think what you want, but that got me interested. But sadly, that’s pretty much the only interesting part in my entire read.

‘The Blogging Affair’ is an extremely shoddy, insipid and poorly written book. Not to mention, the complete lack of proper editing. Not to disparage the author or anything, but there are such gaping holes in the plot that I’m really surprised it even got published. Even if I ignore the typographical errors (there were loads and I cannot ignore them, to be honest – if you can’t take the effort to correct typos in a book, you have no business being an author or a publisher), I cannot overlook the non-existent plot and the extremely crappy writing.

What’s the matter with the plot? Let’s see – I figured out who the murderer was at Chapter 4, page 28. The book was 340 pages long. I’m not kidding. Hence, the quotes on ‘mystery’.

There are 3 PoVs in the book: the blogger (or the blog posts), the married man having the affair with the murdered woman and finally, the cops.

The blogger: The first 3-4 chapters of this PoV is all that’s needed in the book. The rest of the 10-15 odd ones can plain be deleted and it would not matter one teensy bit. And the big deal about this part is that we do not know if the blogger is the married man or not. Well, the pains the author has gone to to not use words that’ll give out the sex of the blogger (no he/him/she/her etc.) was like a big red indicator pointing to the fact that the blogger is a woman.

The married ‘sex-crazed’ (the author’s description) man: Total WTF narrative here. I mean, here’s a guy who gets a call from the cops saying they suspect him in a murder and all he can think of is his male reproductive organ, booze and his missus/mistress. Extremely shallow characterization and absolutely no credibility or a base on reality.

The cops: Again, total waste of paper. The whole narrative was very artificial. Oh, the best part? Know how the cops figure out the blog is written by a woman? Because one of the blog posts mention something about the blogger seeing red blood in a dream. Didn’t get it? Apparently, only woman dream in color. Men dream in black and white. That was the cop’s reasoning on how he figured out who the blogger is.

And all this, when the cops already have a print-out of the whole blog and the very first/second post of the blog, the blogger mentions that she’s a she and she’s in love with a she and that she’s married to a he. Yeah. Einsteins, the bunch of them!

It could’ve been a good book with a bit more effort into the writing and editing. Could have been.

View all my reviews

9 thoughts on “Review: The Blogging Affair

  1. Che… what is this, girl? Someone sends you a book to review and you give such a bad review for that? Were you absent in the good-manners class ?

    But then, you actually read through the book? Did you ? Hats off to the patience. Reading about it is killing me..

    And am beginning to think that Indian authors do not have the same mettle anymore. after having read the debacle that was called ‘Truly Madly Deeply’ which got 4 stars on GoodReads also, am like a cynic now. I did not greatly like the Dork either. Neither did I like what Cyrus Broacha wrote.
    I will not spend a single rupee on any more Indian authors. I’ve decided.

    But yes, I am open to read such books if the authors themselves send it to me… *hint to anyone who is an author*

    Like

  2. This is not the first review I’m reading where the book has had bad grammar and typos. I’m seriously shocked at this. Forget about the plot, forget about the story line, narration, etc. but the most basic thing, the language needs to be correct.
    I am both amused and concerned. How is this even possible?

    Like

Leave a Reply

