Review: Ready Player One

Ready Player One
Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What a roller-coaster ride of a book! Before I start gushing on how much I enjoyed it, let me make this clear: if you’re not into computers or you don’t like ’em all that very much, well, keep away from this book. On the other hand, if you’re a video game junkie, this might very well become your Bible.

Goodreads tells me this is Ernest Cline’s first book. It definitely didn’t feel that way when I was reading it! The narrative is engaging and fast-paced (though at times the author seems to get carried away with all 1980s movie/video games/music trivia – I overlooked it!) and I could hardly wait to finish the book. Dammit, I had dreams about OASIS – that’s how engrossed I became, and I’m not even into video games. The max I’ve ‘played’ is Mario and Minesweeper (I probably ended up with the lowest scores in both). In spite of that, I thoroughly enjoyed the book.

One part of me is hoping the author doesn’t make this a series and ruin it – except the Harry Potter books, I’m yet to come across a series that kept the reader interested till the very last book. But the other part of me hasn’t had enough of Parzival, Art3mis and Aech!! Yeah, they are 3 friends and yeah, that obviously reminds one of THE 3 friends from the you-know-what books 🙂 but hey, so what! There’s enough place for all of us to co-exist! 😛

The narrative is from the PoV of Parzival and for some reason, I felt I would’ve liked it better if he had been a ‘she’ instead of a ‘he’ – something about girl geeks is just so inspiring and fun! (Also, girl power rocks – I’ve had enough of boy heroes, thank you very much). Even then, no harm done. Art3mis kinda makes up for it 🙂

Amazing things apart, there were some minor disappointments towards the end. It got a wee bit like the climax of the movie ‘Independence Day’ – you know, with the rabble rousing speeches and everyone pitching in.. ok ok, sorry..no more story! I guess it’s because the racy start pushed my expectations up and well, I might have expected a different approach to the actual ending. But that’s just me!

All in all, a very different kind of book compared to the ones I’ve read so far. And I’m really glad I took Mith’s recco and gave this a shot!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

