Review: Mystic River

Mystic River
Mystic River by Dennis Lehane
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

After a very bad streak of books that I hated (5, at last count, with a rating of 2 or lower), I finally seem to have broken the jinx with Dennis Lehane’s Mystic River. Typical of a whodunit crime novel, the narrative is gripping and suspenseful not to mention the roller coaster of emotions it evokes from the reader. In that aspect, it goes beyond what I expected from the book based on the its blurb.

This is my first Lehane book, if I don’t include the movie version of Shutter Island (which, by the way, is a must-watch – apart from the story itself, Leonardo DiCaprio totally aced it!). I loved the author’s style where he doesn’t just take us through the story in a typical detectives-busting-a-crime mode, but has given more intimacy to the whole thing by giving the story in the perspective of the various characters themselves. All the characters are built up so beautifully that by the time I finished the book, it felt as if I had been living IN the story all this while! Let me tell you, not many books do that to me.

I don’t want to reveal any part of the story because I’m worried they’ll end up as unintended spoilers! So go read. You won’t regret knowing these characters, their pasts and their present.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Mystic River

Leave a Reply

