Review: A Feast for Crows

A Feast for Crows
A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

I’m still in utter disbelief that this book was written by GRRM and it’s part of the ‘Songs of Ice and Fire’ series. What the first 3 books did, the gripping story, the frantic page-turning – well, all that was completely absent in this one. I skipped entire pages, even 3-4 at a stretch and I didn’t miss much.

Every stone, every leaf and every ant had a story behind it. It felt like plodding through a genealogy text book, rather than a book from the GRRM stable. The only reason I kept at it is to have a thread of continuity when I read ‘A Dance with Dragons’. And if ADWD is also like this..well.. I hope it isn’t.

And, oh, a huuuuuuuuuuuge crush is happening on Jaime Lannister. 🙂 That’s pretty much the only good thing about this book.

Do yourself a favor – read the summary of this book on the interwebz and go directy to ADWD.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: A Feast for Crows

  1. I was bored too the first time. Strangely, it was better the second time around (after a year). Don’t want to spoil it too much you with the next book but many (including me) feel that his transformation to Robert Jordan only began with Feast this book 😉 – you can check out the reviews on amazon and on some boards. He is clearly struggling with advancement of story, and meandering all over the place. And because of that all his weapons in his writing arsenal start to feel like overused, cheap tricks. But I am also I will like Dance better the next read just like Feast.

    Like

Leave a Reply

