On my way to work…

…I saw this 3 year old wearing a white pair of pants with these letters written on it – ‘WTF’. Yes, those exact three, in that exact order. 3 years old. To school. I’m hoping their parents didn’t tell him what it actually stood for and told him it’s Where’s The Fire instead. And then confused the hell out of him on why that question has to appear on his clothes.

…I saw this lady riding a Yamaha motorcycle. Call me what you want, but I don’t think women should ride such macho stuff. C’mon, whatever happened to being graceful and all? The next thing I know some petite 18 something will be on a Harley, completely at home being a biker. Like the kid’s pants said, Where’s The Fire?

…I realized that there should be rules about speed-breakers. You can’t just build ’em up wherever you feel like. I’ve seen mud track races that are smoother than some of the roads I have to use on my commute to work!

…the autorickshaw* I used had sideboards with photos of famous movie stars. Only problem is, the ones who make those photographs do not have access to good Photoshop kindaΒ tools. Kareena and Salman would die if they saw what they look like in today’s autorick. Sanjay Dutt might not mind though. He looked pretty darn ok himself.

…I remembered I hadn’t blogged in ages. I don’t know what’s wrong with me. Oh wait, I do. Lazy is the word I’m looking for. Also ‘drowned in work’. And ‘sudden disappearance of all skills related to writing’. Ok, I don’t know what’s wrong with me.

…I can write blog posts in my head. And conveniently forget the whole thing by the time I can actually write the post. Which explains why I have written only what I’ve written and nothing more. Did I hear someone say ‘Thank God’? Getouttahere!

 

* – The Wiki link is for my <cough>international<cough> readers who haven’t been to India. Yes, yes, we indulge ourselves like that once in a while. Humor us, will ya?

21 thoughts on “On my way to work…

  1. I completely agree on the speed breaker part, they actually make speed breakers on express ways, now that results in more accidents than actually avoiding them!

    Shantanu

    Like

  2. romba naala kaanume nu paathen…the older you stay away the better you get unless you’re a banana!! (borrowed sidhu’s quote and modified it a bit πŸ˜€ )

    Like

  3. Huh. These blog divas, I tell ya. They don’t reply to all their fanmments, they don’t. They leave us all hanging, they do. But when one’s crazy about a singer, one resigns oneself to shelling out thousands for an album of ten songs. When one’s crazy about a line of clothing, one parts with millions for a designer handkerchief. This is the price we have to play. Unreplied-to fanmments. Sniffle.

    (One is coming up with ones own dialect of English. Without apostrophes.)

    Like

  4. PI – πŸ™‚ I write one post, everyone says welcome back. And then I abscond for a month. And then I write one post and people think I’m insane! πŸ˜‰

    Amey – πŸ™‚ but fire sounds more curiousity-inducing rt? πŸ˜‰

    Ganesh – only writers have writer’s block. people like me.. well, we just run out of stuff! πŸ˜‰

    Shantanu – the less said about the size and shape of the speedbreakers, the better! 😦

    Like

  5. maxdavinci – naah, comebacks anyone can have… what we all need is to stay put once we come back! πŸ˜‰

    Manoj – auto what? (try answering that)

    RustyN – πŸ˜€ you should do the translation bits for those regional language serials.. I kill no, this my mother in law types πŸ˜‰

    Sharan – iyo!

    Like

  6. Princess – a thousand apologies, in the name of all that’s blog-holy! 😦 if I said I got buried under neck deep work, does that buy me a pardon? please?

    Vinod – EKSI who? πŸ˜•

    Like

  7. This truly takes the cake…

    Yes a lot of people have things that women should and should not do. And to that there is no end. Where do you draw the lines? Guys in Saudi Arabia think women should not work and women should not drive, Taliban thinks women should not get an education and an educated blogger thinks women should not ride bikes.

    As a matter of fact I do know several petite women who drive bikes and Harleys at that. Just because folks in India are used to seeing advertising that promotes bike with machoness alone it soes not mean that it is a province that is excluded for women. There are even women’s riding groups in the US. So these women lack grace?

    These preconcieved notions are more harmful to society than the kids’s WTF Tshirt.

    Like

  8. “preconcieved notions are more harmful to society” ?!! as long as I’m not trying to impose these notions on the aforementioend society, I think I’m entitled to my opinion, Bikerchic. πŸ™‚

    I find it weird to see a salwar-kameez clad aunty riding a Yamaha RX100. The same way I don’t like the look of a person wearing a lemon yellow trouser with a hot pink shirt. It’s called freedom of thought! (stress on the word ‘I’ please – I find it weird, I don’t like it.)

    BTW, does the world come to an end if an educated blogger thinks women should not ride macho bikes? Why is this notion of ‘women can ride bikes, so go to hell’ being pushed on me? Am I not part of society? Why should I share your preconceived notions? I’m clueless! πŸ˜•

    Like

  9. Oh well the good old libertarian argument..

    But the point I am trying to make is the link between something I like and enjoy – like riding a bike and linking it to grace and subsequently feminity. This is a slippery slope. Men should not cook, Men should not do laundry, women should not play a percussion instrument etc the list can gets endless.

    Such gender conformism harbingers a repressive mentality.
    There is a difference between saying I do not think
    lemon yellow and hot pink is a nice combination vs
    someone who wears it has poor taste . Here we leave alone the subject ie the person and making
    value judgements.

    Of course this is your blog , your space and your thoughts..
    I am just trying to stress the importance of having
    an open mind.. And yes we all judge in our own little ways. This mattered to me personally and hence the vehemence of the reaction.

    Like

Leave a Reply

