Her side of the story

The boredom was seeping into her very bones. She had time to kill, but the creative being that she was, she couldn’t think of a novel way to kill. The idiot box was no good, neither was the crummy-stupid-Im-a-laptop-but-Im-pretty-useless box. She saw the world moving by, the joyous multitude of words and sentences flowing on their blogs and she felt a vague emptiness in her own. Like an old piece of newspaper, left to the elements, yellowing paper with letters fading and edges tearing. Answering her friends and colleagues was becoming an ache – ‘No, I haven’t updated it in a month.’, ‘Yeah, I know I should. But I don’t get time!’. After a point, the lies came easily enough. Time was not a problem, it never was and it never will be. But such is the thing called life where priorities change and a little bit of virtual space marked with a URL gets pushed down to the last in favor of jobs, household work and grocery shopping.

Then in a moment of absolute fed-up-ness, she decided enough was enough. She opened her trusted notepad and let her fingers do the talking. She was going to give no excuses, no ‘Im back for good and will stay around forever’ announcements that she might have to renege on – just the plain truth. Which was? That she was too busy to set her mind free. That she couldn’t afford a wandering meandering creative mind when there was logical work to do. That her she missed the only recreation she truly enjoyed and she hoped she didn’t have to stop doing it, even for a little while. That she hoped her readers would understand (like they’ve done a million times already).

Back to regular progamming, folks! πŸ™‚

It’s crazier than I thought, this thing about bringing a blog back to life. I had to pause two minutes at the login console of WordPress because I couldn’t remember my password. And then another 2 minutes trying to figure out where to post from. And then the endless wondering if someone would actually drop by (tough chance, since I’m presumed dead these days). But you know what? It’s all worth it.

I’m completely out of interesting things to write about, not to mention crib, complain, fret and rant about. The Pakistan Emergency thing’s been beaten to death and I’m not into politics anyway. I haven’t been on any vacations, haven’t had strange people come over and ask me if I’m Aishwarya Rai (that’s interesting, isn’t it?), haven’t been to any wedding or birthday party to pass comments on the people and their choice of clothes – nothing! Absolutely nothing. So what’s the next best thing to write about? Useless stuff, ofcourse. So here goes…

(This is something that’s been rotting in my drafts folder for quite some time now. Rotten stuff stink. Beware.)

Words never stop amazing me. A colleague who knows this pinged me this little Wiki bit on one of my favorite topics – Word Play!

Called ‘Homophonous Phrases’, this is a classic example of the beauty of this thing called Language. Forget highrises, bridges over oceans and sending Man to the Moon, one of the truest proofs for the evolution of mankind can be found in languages.

I read recently that the pace of language extinction exceeds the pace of species extinction. Can you imagine that? Extinction! Somehow I’m not surprised because I could have my own part to play in this. The Telugu I speak/understand is probably 1/10th of what my Grandma can. What she knows and understands will be a fraction of what her ancestors knew! It’s evident, isn’t it? Caught in this mad rush called life, we’re slowly losing our very ability to be diverse in our tongues. 50 or 100 years from now, we would talk about most languages the way we talk today about Sanskrit or Latin – used more ceremoniously than colloqially.

Well, what can we do about the whole thing? Maybe make an effort once in a while to learn a little bit more of our respective mother tongues and delay their extinction, if not prevent it altogether. Reminds me of a one minute film by Vijay Prabhakaran (which I first read about here) which portrayed this in a painfully beautiful way.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fVH1vufsSoI

What hit home hardest was these lines – “Languages die the way many people do at home, in silence, attended by loved ones straining to make idle conversation” (Jack Hitt, NYT)

Β  Β 

Β Β 
Glad I’m back or not? Hmmm?

28 thoughts on “Her side of the story

  1. wow! just saw the video! its spectacular! πŸ™‚ thanks for sharing!

    i m inspired to learn to read and write tamil now. though it is my mother tongue, unfortunately, i cannot read and write it, as i was completely born and brought up in gujarat. it has always been at the back of my mind to learn the same, but it always remained just a distant dream. 😦 one of the 1001 ones i think of doing and never actually get around to doing. this video inspired me a lot! will do something soon! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Priya Iyer – πŸ™‚ been long since I replied to comments, hence the enthu!

    Shantnu – πŸ™‚ thx for dropping by..again!

    Princess – nope, a bear is a bear is a bear. so you called me a bear. cuddly or not, that doesnt matter. but I guess I could let it go for the sake of the chocolates πŸ™‚ confusing? its my blog, what more can u expect?! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. Priya Iyer – Isn’t it? I was almost in tears when I saw that the first time. yeah, and I intend to learn to read/write telugu a bit more (I can barely manage now)..its tough, but I have to try! πŸ™‚

    Priyank – πŸ™‚ I’ve been reading ‘im back’ posts in a lot of blogs lately.. I think it was an epidemic of sorts.. crazy!

    Me – sir, ippodhaane vandhirkken.. slowly everything will start.. did I not mention I finally fractured that little toe? yeah, I did.

    KA – thank u, thank u, mr.name-does-not-start-with-a-P πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Fleiger who is now Amey which left me very confused – πŸ™‚ matter of fact, I did. see, I’m not a cricket fan (never can be!) it’s just got to do with living with a guy who’s crazy about the game πŸ˜‰

    Like

  5. Ah ! Welcome back πŸ™‚ Now this sentence sounds too very cliched 😐 I might have to keep using this everytime, i find a post on your blog…
    Yeniways, Happy Happy Happy Diwali πŸ™‚ And pleeeeaaaseee post more frequently
    *tries to look like an innocent kid but fails miserably and curses herself, for having grown up*
    😐

    Like

  6. Fleiger who is now Amey

    I was looking to see if anybody notices that. And I must say, my ego has gotten a real energy’s secret πŸ˜‰

    Well, I guess the misunderstanding was understandable given your last post.

    Like

  7. Hey Priya, welcome back. I can totally relate to what you say!!
    ‘Pushing back a blogosphere to the last of all priorities’. I prefer reading blogs than writing one these days and I faithfully check out certain blog links atleast every 3 days.
    Please make ur posts regular thus relieving me from a regular weekday’s stupor!!!

    Like

  8. Bumped into your blog while I was Blogtrotting … Great way to come back after a long gap. Guess I should do that too !

    And for the language thing.. I hope we are not the last generation which knew the existance of languages like sanskrit !

    Nice Blog space.

    Like

  9. Nithya – yes, very very cliched. I hate the sound of it! 😦 but what is this? you grew up?! iyo, enna kodumai idhu saravanan? πŸ˜‰

    Jollyroger – Heh heh. Keep returning eh? so you guessed it right that I might do a Houdini again πŸ™‚ very issmart I say..

    Amey – Tell you what happened..I see a comment from an ‘Amey’ and it was written very unlike a first-timer to my blog..so I was wondering who the heck it can be.. a quick jump to your profile led me to Lazy Habits.. and then my very agile brain deduced the connections.. ego busted? πŸ˜‰

    Like

  10. Doc – Wassup, doc? πŸ™‚ yes, comatose – spoken like a true doctor.. but me is the back now..hopefully for good πŸ™‚

    Aparna – ennadi idhu? utta Name pakkathule full address ezhuthuve pola irukku! πŸ˜€ yep, same here.. I’m into reading blogs but not commenting or writing my own… life’s good that way no?

    Sharanyan – mudive panniyaachcha? i’ll prove you all wrong and not go anywhere.. then I dont have to ‘come back’ no!

    Like

  11. RustyN – πŸ™‚ thanks for not giving up on me! I did see a constant incoming link from Chimerical Flyovers in my blog stats πŸ™‚

    Vinod – Thx and welcome to my blog! πŸ™‚ yeah, like generations before us probably saw the death of languages like hebrew and latin, we might be unfortunate enough to see Sanskrit bite the dust 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

