Mind over matter

Snatches of technical conversation try to enter my brain, but fail miserably. An unseen acoustic barricade has been put up just before my ear and nothing can pass through, well, almost nothing. The room is nice and dark, with a subdued light emanating from the head of the room – just enough for me to see the words on the white screen. A dull monotone resonantes around me, lulling me into an undeniable, uncontrollable stupor. My eyelids dance on my eyes, a dance of power between the orbicularis muscleΒΉ and the levator muscleΒΉ – each getting contradictory messages from the brain, which evidently was not at it’s alert best.

The little bits of words that do manage to defeat the acoustics and enter my ear (and hence my brain) take on a different meaning. My mind plays witty tricks like completing the monotone’s sentences – “The other teams would be using our interfaces..”.. ‘with disasterous results’, completes my mind. I wonder if I said that aloud. The equally vacant expressions on the other faces in the room suggest not. It’s your mind, my mind tells me.

I hear a certain word multiple times – ‘middleware’. Not a good thing, for my mind wanders off into my wardrobe to pick out what to wear for the wedding the next weekend. Colors and patterns run through, forming a kaleidoscope with very high hypnotic proportions. Again, not good. I look at the speaker, seeing but not noticing, hearing but not listening. My mind does a random check once in a while to see if my eyes are indeed still open – fortunately, they are. Unfortunately, the yawns are bigger than what my lips can handle without opening up. My hand rushes to the rescue, and my poor chin finding my hand in the right place at the right moment, ends up resting itself on the hand.

And suddenly, as soon as it had started, the monotone ends. Chairs creak, legs hit the table, faces turn left and right, hoping to catch the one face that didn’t realize the distraction. ‘Any questions?’, the speaker asks. It’s a hopeless attempt, yes, but one that has to be made. A customary nod floats around the room signifying a very vehement no.

All’s well with the corporate world.

15 thoughts on “Mind over matter

  1. Yes,everybody seems to have a tough time staying awake when something you don’t connect to just goes on and on. It is great that you managed to keep your eyes open! Corporate world-yes, all seems well!
    Sathej

    Like

  2. πŸ™‚ Nicely written. I ran into this instructor once and he would suddenly slip in a word like “Rakhi Sawant” or “Abhishek Bacchan” in between lengthy discourses on Websphere Process Server. He would later explain – “Just waking all of you up in case you fell asleep.

    Like

  3. Sathej – it’s not just when it’s something you don’t connect to..it happens during any post-lunch session πŸ˜‰

    Nithya – πŸ™‚ Thx! but some would call it making mountains out of mole hills πŸ˜‰

    Like

  4. Me – Yep, that’s exactly what I’m talkin’ about! πŸ™‚

    Aparna – Comp Sci background? you must mean my ability to google up things! πŸ˜‰ I just knew some muscles do it, didnt know their names so googled it up! πŸ™‚

    Krish Ashok – Yikes, that’s a tricky one..but I think I would wake up if something that distracting reaches my ear! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  5. They say a lecturer is a person who has the habit of disturbing of a person’s sleep after driving him to do the same…..”kili ya valarthu poona kaila kudutha madri”…Been there done that…and got caught too…sadly

    Like

  6. ITW – 😦 who doesn’t! and it’s worse when it’s post-lunch!

    Priya Iyer – hehe, veettukku veedu vaasapadi! (I realize I’ve been using this line very often these days.. crazy!) πŸ™‚

    Sharan – you got caught?!!! hehe..sorry about that! I remember hearing this from you on your blog I think.. you should perfect the art of sleeping with your eyes open πŸ˜‰

    Like

  7. πŸ™‚
    It’s always such wonderful fun – reading about someone else being bored to death.
    Though really, I thought that this is what school and college is all about.
    Don’t tell me the rest of my life’s gonna be this way?!
    😦

    Hang on though, do you get to carve R.I.P – DIED WAITING FOR THE BELL TO RING on your desk?

    Like

  8. you know what? i loved this post when i first read it, and wanted to link to it on my blog. i couldnt find it. and now i got it. πŸ™‚

    I know what you mean! When I was looking for this post, I didnt find the search box so I actually added one!

    Like

  9. Pingback: Thank you, Blogsville! « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

