Books books everywhere!

I’ve been tagged to write about books. I could write a hundred analogies like ‘its like asking an Eskimo to talk about ice’ and ‘its like asking Himmesh Reshammiya to talk about caps and nasal singing’ or ‘its like asking Imelda Marcos to talk about shoes’, but I think you guys get the picture, no? Enough said! 

1. Books that Changed Your Life
The Fountainhead, Ayn Rand
Shantaram, Gregory David Roberts
The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho
Kafka on the shore, Haruki Murakami
Veronika decides to die, Paulo Coelho
(in that order)
When I say ‘changed’ what I mean is they changed the way I looked at things, my perspective and my priorities. They also taught me to dream a Utopian dream and still have a hope that some day it will ring true.

2.A Book that I have read more than once
The Fountainhead (Ayn Rand)
Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (J.K.Rowling)
Selected poems of John Keats
Homicidal Psycho Jungle Cat (Bill Watterson)

3. A Book You’d Take onto a Desert Island (I’m guessing it’s ‘deserted’ island ‘coz desert island doesn’t make a lot of sense now, does it?)
The Calvin and Hobbes complete boxed version
The first 5 Harry Potter books (not the 6th, no)
(in that order)

4. Books That Made You Laugh
(no particular order)
The Amulet of Samarkhand, Golem’s Eye (Jonathan Stroud)
Calvin and Hobbes (Bill Watterson)
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Douglas Adams)

5. Books That Made You Cry
We the living (Ayn Rand)
We the living (Ayn Rand)
We the living (Ayn Rand)
Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince (J.K.Rowling)

6. A Book You Wish Had Been Written
(I’m gonna take it as ‘books’ instead of ‘book’)
‘Workplace etiquette for Dummies’
‘Table manners for Dummies’
‘English Pronunciation for Moronic-Dummies’
You get the drift? 😉

7. Books You Wish Had Never Been Written
None. Books have to be written. Remember, they are humanity in print. Saying some books should never be written is like saying some races should never be born.

8. Books You’re Currently Reading
Lolita (Vladimir Nabokov)
The Zahir (Paulo Coelho)
The Bancroft Strategy (Robert Ludlum)
The complete works of Kahlil Gibran (Kahlil Gibran)
I was out of bookmarks, so didn’t pick another new one! 🙂

9. Books You’ve Been Meaning To Read
Yet to read

My name is Red (Orhan Phamuk)
Selected Short stories (Franz Kafka)
City of Joy (Dominic Lapierre)
The inheritance of loss (Kiran Desai) – started, gave up, started, gave up, might start again 😦
The Historian (Elizabeth Kostova)
God’s Debris (Scott Adams)

Yet to buy/beg/borrow/steal (!!)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (JKR) countdown time!
The Reluctant Fundamentalist (Mohsin Hamid)
The Wind Up Bird Chronicles (Haruki Murakami)
Curious Lives (Richard Bach)
The Phantom Tollbooth (Norton Juster)
The Witch of Portobello (Paulo Coelho)
Black Swan Green, Cloud Atlas (David Mitchell)
Three men in a boat (Jerome K.Jerome)
…to name a very few!

Thanks for the tag, Nithya!

And I tag anyone who’s as crazy about books as I am.

28 thoughts on “Books books everywhere!

  1. Priya Iyer – 🙂

    Nithya – ‘Lolita’ is progressing a bit slow becos of Mr.Ludlum 🙂 but I’m thinking I might end up liking it..

    Sharan – oh yeah, that’s one plan I never give up on 🙂

    Like

  2. Wow! I never thought you were a dummy at workplace etiquettes, table manners and pronunciation! I always thought you were a sophisticated english-inspired woman.

    Like

  3. In a weird coincidence, I just finished The Inheritance of Loss at my slowest ppm (pages per minute) ever. It is a hard book to read! Also, I was just recommending City of Joy to a friend last week.

    I’ve already done a book tag, but I am thinking about doing this one anyway 🙂

    Like

  4. Manoj – I am a sophisticated english inspired lady! which is why I wish those books were written so the dummies can learn! 🙂

    Prashanth – Oh please do take up the tag – I’d like to know what the rest of ya’ll are reading! and thank god Im not the only one finding inheritance of loss the bore it is! 😉

    Like

  5. Vivekanand – please do take up the tag! And Murakami is something I would suggest to anyone interested in serious reading.

    Satyaprakash – ‘Atlast Shrugged’ is an awesome book, but it didnt fit into any of the above categories. If there had been a Q for ‘favorite books’, it would have been mentioned. Welcome to my blog, btw! 🙂

    Like

  6. I found your blog through J-J Ashok, who I found because, I, too, have an Unquiet Mind.
    While I will find my way into this blog again, I just wanted to say I share a lot of your preferences in books. Rand had a major influence in my evolution (for want of a word that sounds like ‘devolution’) in life.
    Cheers!

    Like

  7. Rambodoc – 🙂 One is much flattered by the attention (both from the Doc and the JJ man!). And yeah, when I read Rand, everytime is like the first time! Welcome to Thought Process!

    Princess – I read ya! hello? helluuu?? yello? jello?! sorry, I was never comfortable with this hand-held walkie talkie thingies.. how do I turn it off?

    Like

  8. Murakami! Kafka on the Shore was sheer awesomeness. I love trying to sum up the book to people.

    ‘It’s about…umm…cats talking to people while fish fall out of the sky before this 15 year old boy who talks to his alter ego is about to fulfill a prophecy involving pop songs, androgynous librarians and the music of Beethoven.’

    Like

  9. oh you bet! I was reading the book while waiting for a cab, and the lady next to me asked to see the title and then asked me ‘what is it about?’ – I tried something like what you’ve given above and the look on her face? priceless! 😉

    Like

  10. “tried something like what you’ve given above and the look on her face? priceless! ”

    You know, you get this kind of people everywhere. For years, I have been getting these remarks ( spoken and unspoken) from many as “what kind of books are these” “I haven’t heard them (books or authors)” “dont you read something what people read” “where do you get these wierd names for the books”.

    By the way, happened to come across this and nice posts.

    Like

  11. 😦 not really… I was on a long vacation. Tied the knot 🙂 (rather, got tied!)
    I am still unable to get back to writing.. Will come up with something soon… Till then, I will be around cluttering your comment space!

    Like

  12. WHAAAA??!!!!!!! tied knot? woww!!! on honeymoon now eh? 😉 super! I know why you’re unable to write.. what with all the work around the house 😉 its ok, take your time.. 🙂

    oh..btw.. CONGRATS! (my manners just flew out the window for a while, back now I guess) 🙂

    Like

  13. Pingback: I’m it! « Thought Process

Leave a Reply

