Thought(s) of the moment

Pointless musing follows… I’m in the mood for wasting, not only my time, but also your time. Be warned, mon ami.

“Oh God, so you didn’t kill my mother after all?!”

“Yeah, you schmuck! The mad ol’ bat slipped down the stairs and somehow, my prayers were answered.”

“Oh no! what have I done! I lost not only my mom but you too! Please forgive me!”

“But, ofcourse my dear husband. Even if you’re the most unfaithful knucklehead the world ever saw, you’re still my Pati Parmeshwar and being the dutiful kundan-clad designer-saree-donned wife that I am, how can I not forgive you!”

“Forgive me! Forgive me!”

“Ok, stop it. I’m this close to killin’ you with my bare hands. Can we just go shopping and get it over with? I need a jewellery set and bindi to match my new yellow saree.”

…to be continued.

Confused? Yep, I was too. I happened to catch one scene from one of Ekta Kapoor’s giga-serials and this is what happened. Well, in my own words that is. For added effect, please translate above lines into Hindi and add a couple of expression-less faces to go with the dialogues.

Isn’t it fun? Watching a soap mid-scene or worse, mid-sentence? I sure find it fun ‘coz for the world of me, I don’t know who the good guys are or who the bad guys are! I don’t know who killed whom or who’s plotting to kill whom. I don’t know who actually stole the chain to put the blame on the ghar-ki-bahu (daughter-in-law of the house) and send her out. But I do love watching those huge jewellery ensembles, those designer sarees, the curtains in the set…all at the cost of what? A few minutes of leaving your brains in the deep freeze. Considering the fact that the brain probably works more in the deep freeze, that shouldn’t be an issue. smirk smirk.

I don’t watch these stupid soap operas. (I could be lying, but then I dare you to prove it.)

But no matter how hard we try, it’s difficult not to run into one of these when one is channel surfing. Like those little bits of food that stay stuck between your teeth and you cannot pull them out ‘coz it would make you look like a neanderthal touching your teeth in public. While this sounds absolutely disgusting, it does get my point through, doesn’t it? No? Ok.

Like I was saying, I get kicks watching these soaps mid-scene just for the heck of it. Though it’s risky at one level ‘coz you might actually find the plot interesting (only to lose interest after 3 days because they’re all still standing in the huge hall arguing on who stole the chain and why), it sure entertains you for the moment. And that’s what this entire world is coming to – living for the moment, in the moment, by the moment! (Cool, this line definitely goes into my Book of Profound Sayings).

Nothing wrong with living in the moment, though. I’m all for it. Only, I’d really appreciate it if someone else did all my tax planning so I can retire with a huge stash in the underground vault in my backyard. On second thoughts, that someone should first earn all the money and then do all the planning and then fill up my local backyard based Swiss Bank. Ah, life is good, no?

To quote someone more profounder than me, I intend to live forever – so far so good.

While this post may seem like this dish you make out of leftovers (ok, not a very good day for my analogies, so pardon moi), you have to understand that I suffer from the opposite of bloggers’ block – I have too many ideas floating around and I need to get it outΒ in some form. I don’t have the luxury of a Pensieve like Albus Dumbledore. Even I don’t know where a particular strand of thought might lead to! And this post is the perfect example: I started off with soap operas, touched on disgusting manners at personal hygiene and ended with something profound as usual. You have to give me credit for that, ya know.

14 thoughts on “Thought(s) of the moment

  1. Ooh I’ve seen those! Heavily made up faces, and someone cries every five minutes. There’s lots of echoing and wide eyed stares. They always face the camera, even when they’re talking to someone behind them. And they wear their most expensive jewellry sets while sweeping under the sofa’s.

    And these kind of posts are the best. Especially the ones with profound endings. They’re really good for awkward silences. Well, not all of them…
    πŸ˜‰
    πŸ™‚
    😦
    πŸ™‚
    😑
    πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. That was fun reading! Posts like these and the monday ones sure are fun reading!! (one fun thing about monday!! :D)

    Are you sure you caught so much whil channel surfing coz nowwadays most serials have that much in two or three episodes!!

    Like

  3. Sigh sigh sigh….This doesn’t happen only in Ekta Kapoor’s serials…Happens in every single Tamil/hindi/telugu/malayalam/marathi/Chinese sitcom 😐 They make good comedy shows, actually…They are pretty addictive, but the addiction doesn’t last for long…
    These ppl, the rich and the poor, the well fed and the ill fed, the pope and the pariah, everybody, is swathed in glitzy clothes and flashy diamond necklaces…
    These stupid ‘giga’-serial metrosexual heroes, inorder to display their grooviness, wear stupid chains and stupid otha-kaadhu kadukans…They end up looking like transevestites 😐 Apart from this, the BGM aaaarrrrgggggggghhhhhhh….. Cacophony at its heights…Ekta’s serials are better off that way…we get to listen to nice, euphonious hindi movie numbers πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

    Like

  4. Me like Monday Posts and Posts with P.S. (Hmmm actually only the P.S. :p )

    Mega Serial aaa alara vittundu samaikara sugam irukkay….vera edhulayum kidaikaadhu….

    Like

  5. Princess – πŸ™‚ Yep, I even saw one where a village belle wore more make-up than Rekha! and goes to graze cows (for cryin’ out loud!!)..we all need something to fill those awkward silences, dont we? I usually go with a silly smile and that just makes it more awkward 😦

    Sharan – πŸ™‚ thanks! its becos of people like you that people like me dare to blog!! πŸ˜‰

    Nithya – Is that right? We dont get Sun TV on TataSky, so I dont know abt the tamil soaps..only Ekta Kapoor in my living room πŸ˜‰

    Me – hallo…post script (PS) makes sense only after the ‘post’ – post illena engendhu post script?! but what you say is right.. mega serial background is very important for cooking..makes me feel like I’m at home with my mom! πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. The made up women reminds me of the Hindi serials I used to watch about 4 to 5 years back. I think Tamil/ telugu /Malayalam/bla bla are much better. In hindi serials I guess it is really difficult to differentiate a mom and a daughter!! Both will seem very trendy with Jeans and skin tight Tees and parlour made hair!

    Like

  7. Oh! those Mega serials. Tell me abt it! I’m glad I dont get to see them these days. The last I saw was when my MIL had come down here on a visit and I was forced to see them all. How did you miss the title song?
    Every serial has a unique number associated with it and these numbers play a major role in putting a toddler to sleep…
    gone are the days where moms would sing aaararo aariraaro or rocka bye baby or soja munna..
    These days it’s these numbers!

    Like

  8. BioFreak – absolutely! everyone looks like barbie dolls dressed up in silk!

    Aparna – hehe..un kashtam enakku puriyardhu Appu.. πŸ™‚

    RustyN – isn’t it? πŸ™‚ I like being profound too.. only, at times, it gets out of hand..and then I go back into my secret closet for a timeout..and come out feeling even more profound.. when Ogden Nash wrote about vicious circles, I think he actually had me in mind and not his dentist! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  9. Wow, if everyone really likes the profound, then maybe I should come out with that book…

    so if you guys wanna change your minds, now is the last chance for very soon that book will be available at your bookstore! πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

