A recipe for cold

Alert: Please ignore this entry – this is purely for my ‘saving-someplace-handy’ purposes. I’m tired of saving notepad files and then forgetting where I saved them. I’m also tired of sending it as email to myself (how pathetic!) and then forgetting to which folder I moved it. I’m even more tired of taking printouts and losing it in the Mt.Everest-y pile of paper (read: crap) that I have on my desk.

This is a recipe that my mom gave me when hubbie had a severe bout of the oh-so-common cold. I’m going to try this out over the weekend, so till then I need the recipe to be available ‘somewhere’!

So here goes…

Ingredients:
To fry and powder finely
Dried chilli – 3
Black pepper – 1 tbsp
Urad dal – 1 tsp (Tamil – ulutham paruppu, Telugu – Uddi pappu, Mallu – no idea!)

Curry leaves – a handful (Tamil – karivepilai, Telugu – karivepaaku, Mallu – Karivepila)
Salt – to taste
Tamarind – a small ball (Tamil – puli, Telugu – chinthapandu, Mallu – puli)

Tadka
Mustard (kadugu, aavalu, kadugu)
Turmeric (manjal thool, pasupu podi, manjal)
Asafoetida (perungaayam, inguva, no idea)

How to?
Powder the items-to-be-powdered. To this add the curry leaves, salt, tamarind and a bit of water – grind this to a smooth paste.

Take oil in a kadai, add mustard, turmeric and asafoetida. Add the ground paste to this and cook on low flame till the oil seperates and comes to the top. (Something like your ‘pulikaichal’ consistency – that paste thing you add for tamarind rice)

Done!

To be had with rice. If you’re like me, you can have it with idli, dosa..anything!

I don’t know how this will taste (I can guess it will be ‘kaaram’ looking at the first 2 ingredients). I can try it out and let you all know on Monday. Till then..you can try it at your own risk 🙂

Leave a Reply

