My favorite things

Forever ‘Sound of Music’!

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woollen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with string,
These are a few of my favorite things.

Cream coloured ponies and crisp apple strudel,
Door bells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings,
These are a few of my favorite things.

Girls in white dresses and blue satin sashes,
Snow-flakes that stay on my nose and eye-lashes,
Silver white winters that melt into spring,
These are a few of my favorite things,

When the dog bites,
When the bee stings,
When I’m feeling sad,
I simply remember my favorite things,
And then I don’t feel, so bad.

3 thoughts on “My favorite things

  1. Unwritten Registry
    by Elaine V. Emans
    ******************************************
    Each, for his own remembering,
    has a listOf lovely things, and yours may be unlike
    Mine as the day from night:
    a river kissed by sun is in my own,
    a flaming spike of hollyhocks may be in yours,
    while snow,Light-swirling but persistent,
    Is as fair To me as music.
    Heaps of Bangles
    Some bangles suit for the girl’s wrists,
    is as fair to me as music.
    You have hours that glow jewel like and exquisite,
    and I have
    Rare mornings, afternoons and midnights, too
    You’ve loved a city you cannot forget,And I a hill and wood in April; you,
    Bird song and voices I’ve not known.
    And yet
    My list is strangely similar to yours:
    My list is strangely similar to yours:
    Each warms the heart ,
    and comforts,
    and endures.
    **********************************************

    Like

Leave a Reply

